Skip to content

Collaborative learning projects

October 18, 2011
tags:

I’ve been reading Trentin’s paper for CAEL. Half-way through it, I already see the advantage of having a paper like this as an introductory reading for the all of the Masters’. For me, somethings do not come naturally. I need to be primed in fields were I’m not so well versed. This is one of them. After the first semester, looking back to the experiences I had with collaborative work, I could reach some of Trentin’s ground rules, but not all of them, of course. So, I can appreciate the advantage such a a reading could have given me.

Of course, I understand that I’m probably better now at judging the value of the paper exactly because I had the benefit of the “virgin” experience. I had to go through the difficulties of not knowing my co-workers, of the negotiation of tasks, of the complains about deadlines not met, of doing parts of the work not knowing the whole (probably by lack of time, I concede).

Still, I feel that it would be better to have had a firmer ground. That’s something I will leave to the consideration of the teachers, but also to the free opinions of the other students, if they will be so kind as to share them in the right venue (probably the course forum).

G. Trentin (2009). Using a wiki to evaluate individual contribution to a collaborative learning project. Journal of Computer Assisted Learning 25: 43-55.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

