Skip to content

To learn or not to learn

July 10, 2011

“Issues of control apply to both teaching and learning. Education is fundamentally an interactive or transactional process. The challenges and confusion surrounding control issues go to the normative role and responsibility afforded the teacher. It is the teacher who has the legitimate responsibility to define the curriculum and design the educational activities. Unfortunately, there is little opportunity for collaboration in the planning process. That is, the student has little input or influence in planning the process or expected outcomes of the educational experience. This creates the contradictory situation where the student is expected to assume responsibility for activities and an outcome over which they have little input.”

[op. cit., p. 14]

These are words that mean a lot to me. Even if I understand that some structure must be in, I always find myself kind of trapped in activities that are not for me, in a sense. They are interesting, open new horizons, no doubt. But I judge them by what I can take out of them. Most of the time, I just make a mental note: I will have to come back to this subject (when I have the time). And then, if it happens, it will be most probably to start anew again. Part of the time, I feel just like loosing time itself.

I keep jumping out of the “path” for the homework that will be due shortly to explore that other paper or book that may bring me some answers. I can’t work on things I do not feel have a meaning to me with the same enthusiasm and energy I put when I really am going after something. May be this masters is not the real thing. But I will keep on, for a while, at least. It could even be that Garrison and Anderson will make me see the “light”.

DRGarrison & TAnderson (2003). E-Learning in the 21st Century: A Framework for Research and Practice. Routledge (184 pp.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

