Skip to content

Cognitive Load Theory

April 17, 2011

This is my first contact with CLT. My first reaction was not so positive as I felt that the approach was too deterministic, too mechanical for my taste. I’m starting seeing things in a different light. Why?

Let’s take it a step at a time. Part of my negative reaction came from the top/down approach, instructor’s side of the problem: no role for the learner apart from what looked like learning passively. Another thing that was not so positive was the just too convenient theory allowing academics to perform experiments with students. Okay, I’m overly critical; my only excuse is that I was born that way, 8-).

What’s changing my opinion? The high level of attention to the individual student and its needs that the theory allows for. That always gets positive points with me. Do I think it will work out in practice? I don’t know, it’s too soon to tell. But I think I can get a good job done over exploring and (try to) explain the theory by writing. As I’m not alone doing that and the other students are more experienced in the field of Education, I will learn a lot anyway. Isn’t it the point?

Leave a Reply

